The New Classics

June 4, 2009

Blog Politics

Filed under: Message — Greg @ 12:11 pm

I needed a two week break from the blog to re-evaluate what I’m doing here. I don’t think that the format I’ve been using for the past 6 months is the future of The New Classics.

There is way too much music coming out way too quickly for one person with a full-time job to keep up with it all on a daily basis. Aside from that, it’s hard to even enjoy the music when worrying about having to throw a review up, although the reviewing does help me appreciate a lot of it.

But what I think will happen going forward is a more column-based format. Sort of suggested songs and albums, including playlist/mini mixtape download links. Also, I want to figure out how to embed some type of flash music player, so that you guys can preview the tracks while reading, before opting to download. Because I can’t even count how many times I’ve blindly downloaded a zshare link and absolutely hated the song, so I think a stream player would be really helpful.

Another thing I want to dip into is articles about music. I’ve found myself with a lot of opinions and ideas about modern music and media lately, and there’s a lot I’d like to get out on the table for discussion.

The song & album review formats I’ve been using will still show up from time to time, but mostly for things that I think truely deserve the solo spotlight, rather than a post for every song that hits my ears.

Things are changing a bit, but I hope everyone who visited the blog before keeps coming back. Looking at the hit counts from my two week absence, the numbers surprisingly only dropped off slightly, so I know there’s a readership here. I’m not even quite sure where I’m going with the site at this point, but I know that it’s all for the best.

Thanks for reading The New Classics, check back soon.
gM

1 Comment »

  1. I totally understand you. Maybe it’s because I’ve been trough the same thin, with an old blog of mine. Enjoy your hiatus and I’ll be here, patiently waiting.

    Bless
    Peace.

    Comment by biha — June 14, 2009 @ 4:36 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

