The New Classics

May 15, 2009

Music Video: Modest Mouse, Satellite Skin

Filed under: Download, Indie Rock, Music Video — Tags: , — Greg @ 6:03 pm

05.15.09

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Song: Satellite Skin
Artist: Modest Mouse
Album: No One’s First And You’re Next EP
Label: Epic Records
Notes: 1st single from EP
Analysis: Modest Mouse is one of the most important bands in of my generation for me. Back in early 2004 when Good News for People Who Love Bad News came out, they really cracked my taste in music wide open. Before I heard that album I was mainly big into the emo/post-hardcore genre, as well as alternative metal & popular hip hop stuff. But Modest Mouse really introduced me to a lot more sounds and types of music, which happened perfectly right before I went away to college, which was also obviously a huge turning point in my life. Not to get all sentimental, but to this day that album is one of my most played favorites, and I’ve since caught up greatly on the group’s influences, influencees, and learned to love so many new bands and genres in a way that I never could have had I not been given a copy of their cd in 2004. With that out of the way, ‘Satellite Skin’ is a new Modest Mouse track off of their upcoming EP of unreleased joints from the Good News sessions, as well as the We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank b-sides. The sunny, crunchy tune has a bizarrely cool video to go along with it featuring walking birdhouses, alien cults and a disgusting patch of pulsating hairy flesh. You have to wonder how Tool music video animator Kevin Willis could even think up an idea for a storyline this odd, but Modest Mouse is a very imaginative band also so I’m sure they had something to do with it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

