The New Classics

March 25, 2009

Music Video: Joell Ortiz, Move On [ft. Joe Budden, Royce da 5’9″ & Crooked I]

03.25.09

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Song: Move On (Remix) [ft. Joe Budden, Royce da 5’9″ & Crooked I]
Artist: Joell Ortiz
Album: The Kickdrums: SMASH the System (mixtape)
Producer: The Kickdrums
Notes: none
Analysis: I usually like to collect my thoughts before posting something, but I knew exactly what I wanted to say when I just saw this video. This is one of my favorite songs of the entire 00’s, and its almost entirely brand new to me (first heard the original version at the end of 08). At over EIGHT minutes in length, the Kickdrums beat never sounds repetitive, and the rhymes never fall off and get boring. I was going to transcribe some lyrics, but I didn’t know where to start without leaving anything out, so I’ll leave it to all of you to quote your favorite lines in the comments. They rap about their past successes in the industry, and they all are ready to move forward, as individuals, and also as this collective known as Slaughterhouse.  All four of these MCs are in an elite league, and this song is a prime example of why they are as good as you’ve heard. The song is a 10/10, by the way, and I don’t give those out often.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

