The New Classics

March 22, 2009

New Music: Crooked I, I’m Still a MC

Filed under: Download, Hip Hop, Song — Tags: , , — Greg @ 10:30 am

03.22.09

Song: I’m Still a MC
Artist:
Crooked I
Album:
B.O.S.S. (Beginning of Something Serious)
Label:
Dynasty Entertainment
Producer:
Komplex
Notes:
none
Analysis:
Like it or not, there hasn’t been a whole lot of relevant hip hop coming out of the West coast in years. The Game is arguably the only “new school” artist that’s even noteworthy from there, while younger acts from Cali like U-N-I and Blu are only just starting to make a name for themselves. Sure, Snoop, Ice Cube and B-Real are still putting out some great music, but they come from the era before 2Pac’s death. When Pac died, it sparked more imitators than originators, and that is where I believe the music from the left side pretty much fell off. Only a handful (Xzibit, E-40, ummm…) since then have been able to make a real name for themselves. Where is this generation’s West Coast all-stars? Crooked I is the closest thing that I’ve heard to recapturing the West’s golden era once again. Crook is a former Death Row artist, with two unreleased albums from that sinking ship in the early 2000’s, and is currently 1/4 of the rap supergroup Slaughterhouse (with Joe Budden, Joell Ortiz & Royce da 5’8″). On ‘I’m Still a MC’, Komplex has produced a track with a California gangsta rap flair, but still accessible for the edgiest of clubs and bars across the country. But it’s not a dance track in the traditional sense, it’s more like a high energy speaker blaster with a dance factor, like a Lil Jon song with better lyricism. I am only familiar with Crooked I through his guest verses and Slaughterhouse tracks, so it’s cool to see for myself that he can carry one on his own after I’ve unfortunately been ignoring most of his freestyles and other material from blogs like Nah Right. B.O.S.S. will be his first official LP release, and even though he’s in NY now, if the rest of the album is as good as ‘I’m Still a MC’, it’ll be a huge step in bringing back the West Coast to prominence.
Rating: 7.0
Source: Nah Right

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

