The New Classics

March 1, 2009

Music Video Megapost: 29 Music Videos from February 2009

Prepare to be eyefucked. Somebody’s gotta do MTV’s job, right? 29 different visuals coming at you:

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Artist: Death Cab for Cutie
Song: Grapevine Fires
Album: Narrow Stairs
Analysis: Excellent song, and great choice for a video. It gives the other animated videos of this month a good run for their money. Narrow Stairs has surprisingly stayed with me since it was released last summer. I highly recommend the album, if you haven’t checked it out yet.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: I Used to Get It In Ohio
Artist: Cam’ron
Album: Crime Pays
Analysis: Cam’s second low-budget video from Crime Pays. I’ve never been to Ohio so I can’t tell you how accurate his rhymes are...


Song: Can’t Stop Me
Artist: Jadakiss
Album: The Last Kiss
Producer: Neo da Matrix
Analysis: Video’s alright, see my thoughts on the song here. Still pumped for The Last Kiss.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Circulate
Artist: Young Jeezy
Album: The Recession
Producer: Don Cannon
Analysis: Hands down the best song from The Recession, and probably Jeezy’s best song ever. He can thank Don Cannon for that.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Blame It [ft. T-Pain]
Artist: Jamie Foxx
Album: Intuition
Producer: Christopher “Deep” Henderson
Analysis: I usually don’t post to R&B songs, but the cameos in this video are crazy. Even Ron Howard plays a big part! Definitely worth a watch for that alone, plus the song is kinda catchy.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Replica
Artist: Beck
Album: Modern Guilt
Producer: Danger Mouse
Analysis: Boring video, and not the best song from the album, but Beck still remains awesome.


Song: Short Fuse
Artist: Black Lips
Album: 200 Million Thousand
Analysis: Originally reviewed the song last month, and it’s only grown on me even more. I’m a sucker for animated videos, too.


Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Day ‘N Night
Artist: Kid Cudi
Album: Man on the Moon
Producer: Emile
Analysis: Probably my favorite hip hop video of the month. I love everything about it, from the song down to the rotoscoping.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: The Wrestler
Artist: Bruce Springsteen
Album: Working on a Dream
Analysis: The song’s alright, but not up to Bruce’s greatness standards. But the film it’s inspired by is just plain awesome. The Wrestler is up there with The Dark Knight in my favorite films of 2008.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: The People Tree [ft. David Byrne, Chali 2na & Gift of Gab]
Artist: N.A.S.A.
Album: The Spirit of Apollo
Analysis: Definitely one of the stranger albums so far this year, but The People Tree grew on me (pun not intended). It reminds me of a Gorillaz-style hip hop song, featuring Chali 2na of Jurassic 5, Gift of Gab from Blackalicious, and lead singer of the Talking Heads, David Byrne. It’s also featured on The New Classics’ February 2009 Mixtape.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Firstborn
Artist: J. Tillman
Album: Vacilando Territory Blues
Analysis: Solo track from the drummer of the Fleet Foxes. Nice slow track, with a mesmerizing video. Don’t fall asleep.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Welcome to Heartbreak
Artist: Kanye West
Album: 808s and Heartbreak
Producer: Kanye West
Analysis: Hopefully the final video from Kanye’s supremely disappointing album. Unique concept for a video though, unless someone royally fucked up encoding it and they just decided it looks better with all the video scrambles.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Generation Lost
Artist: B.o.B.
Album: Who the Fuck is B.o.B.? (mixtape)
Producer: B.o.B.
Analysis: My favorite track off the mixtape besides ‘I’ll Be in the Sky‘. The video’s kinda wack but if you haven’t heard anything from B.o.B. before, watch it anyway, then download the mixtape.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Song: Dead & Gone [ft. Justin Timberlake]
Artist: T.I.
Album: Paper Trail
Producer: Timbaland
Analysis: Talk about a song growing on you. When Paper Trail first came out, I had dismissed this song as one of my least favorites on the album, but ever since it’s been released as a single, I’ve liked it more and more. Now, it rivals ‘On Top of the World’ for my favorite track on that LP.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Part of Me
Artist: Royce da 5’9″
Album: Street Hop
Producer: Carlos “6 July” Broady
Analysis: After this seeing video, and hearing Royce’s other single ‘Shake This’, all signs are pointing to Street Hop being one of the best hip hop albums of 2009. This is a must watch video.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Tunnelvision
Artist: Here We Go Magic
Album: Here We Go Magic
Analysis: From a group I don’t know much about, but I’m digging the song. The video is more or less like a low-fi version of the iTunes visualizer.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Circulate (100 Bars)
Artist: Termanology
Album: If Heaven Was a Mile Away (A Tribute to J Dilla) (mixtape)
Producer: J Dilla
Analysis: Term doesn’t appear in this one, but it’s still a cool look at the painting of a mural of J Dilla, with a dope song playing in the background.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Kingdom of Rust
Artist: Doves
Album: Kingdom of Rust
Analysis: A narrative video from the group that created one of my favorite songs of all time, ‘Caught by the River’.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Losing Out [ft. Royce da 5’9″]
Artist: Black Milk
Album: Tronic
Producer: Black Milk
Analysis: Top notch shit right here. A video for one of the top 5 songs of 2008. If this track doesn’t get you amped up, check your pulse.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: For Whom the Bell Tolls [ft. Phonte, Blu & Will.I.Am]
Artist: Evidence
Album: The Layover
Producer: Khrysis
Analysis: I singled this track out as the best song on Blu’s latest mixtape, but at the time I didn’t know that it was actually Evidence from Dilated Peoples’ track. Dope song by three amazing MC’s, and the great musical mind of will.i.am (seriously though, outside of the BEP he’s pretty good).

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Nasty Girl [ft. Plies]
Artist: Ludacris
Album: Theater of the Mind
Producer: Swizz Beatz
Analysis: Purely for the eye candy. It’s actually not a bad club song either.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: I Love College
Artist: Asher Roth
Album: Asleep in the Bread Aisle
Producer: Mike Caren
Analysis: I liked it better with the Weezer sample, but ‘I Love College’ is one of my favorite party songs of the last 6 months. I’m really pulling for the kid to blow up.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Nothing to Worry About
Artist: Peter Bjorn & John
Album: Living Thing
Analysis: I’ve already discussed my grievances with this song, but this video is so fucking cool. I guess it settles the age-old question that yes, Asian greasers are hilarious.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Can You Tell
Artist: Ra Ra Riot
Album: The Rhumb Line
Analysis: This album really crept up on me this winter, and surprisingly I’ve kept every song from it on my iPod. Next to ‘Each Year’, this is my favorite song from the LP. There’s actually a bar called the Rhumb Line in Greenport, Long Island that I’ve been to a few times, anyone ever been there?

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Mykonos
Artist: Fleet Foxes
Album: Sun Giant EP
Analysis: Such a stellar song, from an EP that got glossed over last year for the Fleet Foxes self-titled LP. Really amazing video, too. Music doesn’t get much better than this.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Letter to Big
Artist: Jadakiss
Album: The Last Kiss
Producer: Trackmasters
Analysis: Jada’s most intimite song, and one of his best. I don’t get whats up with the Cosby sweaters though.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Four Provinces
Artist: The Walkmen
Album: You & Me
Analysis: In my opinion, this song is the Walkmen’s best since I heard ‘The Rat’ a few years back. I like the video a lot, too. It makes me want to go back to my own childhood.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: Falling Down
Artist: Oasis
Album: Dig Out Your Soul
Analysis: I’m not the biggest supporter of Oasis mostly because everytime I read an interview with them they just talk a lot of shit. But I can’t hold that against their music, and this is a really good song. Probably their best since ‘Champagne Supernova’.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Song: I Hate My Job
Artist: Cam’ron
Album: Crime Pays
Analysis: Killa Cam returns to the hip hop after a 2 year absense, with a different, more humorous perspective on his rhymes. I haven’t really been a fan of his material, or his style since Purple Haze in ’04, but Crime Pays has me intrigued now that he’s dropped the whole Dipset gimmick (or more accurately, they’ve dropped him).

So hopefully this is the last catch-up megapost I have to do, but there is some great stuff in here. Anyone have a favorite?

1 Comment »

  1. […] Stairs, they released two of my favorites from the album: ‘Cath…‘ and ‘Grapevine Fires‘ as singles this year, followed by the equally-superb The Open Door EP followup that further […]

    Pingback by New Music: Death Cab for Cutie, Meet Me On the Equinox « The New Classics — October 21, 2009 @ 8:18 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

